Serve a Shelter Meal in 2015

Posted on Jan 14, 2015 in Justice Opportunities, Upcoming Events

As one of the founding congregations of Northside Common Ministries, we continue to support their important work of serving those most in need in our community. Volunteers from Allegheny provide a meal for the 30 men staying at the Pleasant Valley Men’s Shelter on the 3rd Thursday of every month.  Here are the dates for 2015:

Thursday, January 15
Thursday, February 19
Thursday, March 19
Thursday, April 16
Thursday, May 21
Thursday, June 18
Thursday, July 16
Thursday, August 20
Thursday, September 17
Thursday, October 15
Thursday, November 18
Thursday, December 17

Pleasant Valley Men’s Shelter isPleasant Valley Shelter part of Northside Common Ministries located at 1601 Brighton Road, just a few blocks from the church. The shelter offers nightly accommodations for 30 homeless men as well as a warm evening meal, showers, and other support services. Menu planning is done by email earlier in the week. The Thursday evening meal begins at 8pm, please arrive at least 15 minutes early to deliver food, set up, and prepare for serving. If you can make food and/or serve with us please get in touch with Shelter Meal Coordinator Chris McKeever at <sheltermeal at alleghenyuu.org>.