Board of Trustees

A 7-member Board of Trustees represents the Congregation. The Board is responsible for the business affairs, governance, and financial oversight of the church. Officers are selected at the first meeting of the year. The Board appoints standing and temporary committees and teams as needed.


Board of Trustees for 2017-18

President – Greg Blackman (2016-18): <president at>

Vice-President – Kate Tomlinson (2016-18): <vicepresident at>

Treasurer – John Luff (2016-18): <treasurer at>

Clerk – Jay Poliziani (2016-18): <clerk at>

Laura Conkle (2017-19)

Sonia Reed (2017-19)

Sarah Wade Smith (fulfilling Lisa Schroth’s 2017-2019 term until next Annual meeting)

Minister – David McFarland (Ex Officio) : <minister at>


Board Meetings

The Board of Trustees meets monthly in Unitarian House. These meetings are open to the membership of the church, and a “Congregational Moment” is set aside at the beginning for members to come and talk freely about any topic. To learn about upcoming meetings, or suggest an agenda topic, contact <board at>.


Annual Congregational Meeting

The Annual Congregational Meeting is usually held in late May. Among the agenda topics are votes on business matters and election of new trustees. Members are encouraged to be there as a privilege and responsibility of membership and a quorum is required. Anyone can attend and participate, although only those who signed the membership book at least 30 days prior to the meeting are eligible to vote.

The 2018 Annual Congregational Meeting will be held on Sunday, May 20, 2018.



Bylaws of Allegheny Unitarian Universalist Church – May 2014



2016 Annual Report to the Congregation

2015 Annual Report to the Congregation

2014 Annual Meeting Minutes

2014 Annual Report to the Congregation

2013 Annual Meeting Minutes

2013 Annual Report to the Congregation